durga pooja festival

Durga Puja Hindu Festival in India Interesting Facts About Festival

durga pooja festival

Durga Puja is one of the most celebrated Hindu festivals in India over 10 days with Navratri. Festival celebrated all over India mostly in West Bengal Kolkata, Delhi Chitranjan Park Mini West Bengal, Assam Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Gujrat, Tamilnadu, Punjab, and Himachal Pradesh also in Nepal. Durga Puja is particular to honor Goddess Durga.

Durga Puja celebrates the victory of Goddess Durga over the Demon king Mahishasura. It begins with Navratri a nine-night festival and Durga Puja Celebrated for ten days. At this time you will be seen Durga Pandals everywhere.

The pandals with grand idols are open for visitors. On the 10th day of Dashmi is time to Visarjan(immersion in water) this year many places of India grand idols make eco-friendly. After the end of Puja same idols are immersed in the water nearby the location of puja.


About Durga Puja: As per Hindu Myth, Goddess Durga emerged from the collective energy of all Gods as and Embodiment of Shakti or Divine Feminine power to destroy the demon Mahishasura, Demon has a blessing only to not defeated by any man or god. So the birth of Devi Durga killed the Demon Mahishasura and help to all world from Demon.

Navratri and Durga Pooja start on the same day with Navaratri, Navratri is celebrated for a period of nine days followed by Dusshera and other hands Durga puja celebrated for a period of the tenth day.

Navratri celebrated the worshipping of Goddess Durga in her nine forms and end with the celebration of Lord Ram’s victory over Ravana. Durga puja is celebrated in the occasion for a victory over the demon Mahishasur.

During Navrati devotees fast and do not consume meat, egg, garlic, and onion for the next nine-day. Durga puja is a celebration of Bengali is a time to enjoy the laugh and have authentic Bengali culture.

Important Days of Durga Festival

1. First Day Mahalaya
2. Pratipad (First Day of Durga Puja)
3. Maha Panchami
4. Maha Sasthi
5. Maha Saptami
6. Maha Ashtami
7. Maha Nabami
8. Bijaya Dashami